The most accurate and best digital map of the Shannara World

The Realm Of Shannara

The fantasy world created by Terry Brooks.

Shannara, the series of books written by Terry Brooks has become a fantasy classic.

Sword of ShannaraThe “Four Lands” traversed by the characters have been vividly described and lends depth to the exciting adventures they pursue.

Maps have always been available, the best one possibly being in the book “First King of Shannara”. The commercial maps have only ever been artistic impressions and not geographically accurate representations true to the books. None of the maps encompass all the books in the series.

Collating all the information from all fourteen books[1], I have assembled them into a coherent and geographically correct map that will enhance your reading pleasure.

Transportation has been used to calculate distances within the Shannara world. This includes the time taken to walk, ride, travel by cart and the obscure travelling by bird and flying boat!

Full scale & Coloured representation of the Shannara Map

The map has not been embellished or had bits added that are not in the books, so certain places may lack some detail. The map has been accurately scaled at 1mm to the mile and the mountains are drawn to scale as close as possible.

The map is only available to download.

The reader will be able to see similarities to the North American coast and interia, and especially the island hopping across the “Pacific Ocean” to the Siberian coast line, described in the voyages of the Jerle Shannara. Some of the islands can be linked to those visible today, some can be related to subsea island mounds (visible in Google Earth). The Four Lands are volcanic in origin with three collapsed calderas visible; the Inkrim and Klu Mts, Paranor – with the central volcanic plug, and third in line, the area of the Hollows. The volcanic line is continued west to the island of Morrowindl, which is the presently active site (in the book Elf Queen). Elements in the Forbidding have not been included as they are diffuse in time and geography.

The underlying book notes used to develop the map are available here on the Book Data page.

Any comments or help in improving the site would be welcome. If you are browsing, what did you hope to find, but didn’t?

[1] Books in the Shannara series – in publication order.
The Sword of Shannara, The Elfstones of Shannara,
The Wishsong of Shannara, The Scions of Shannara,
The Druid of Shannara, The Elf Queen of Shannara,
The Talismans of Shannara, First King of Shannara, Ilse Witch,
Antrax, Morgawr, Jarka Ruus, Tanequil, Straken, Wards of Faerie, Bloodfire Quest, Witch Wraith, The High Druids Blade, The Darkling Child, The Sorcerer’s Daughter.